My village

 The most important thing to get for your baby is not a Rock n’ Play, nor a good set of swaddling blankets, nor a high-end stroller. The most important thing to get for your baby is a village. Your village will keep you afloat.

They will carry you when you are tired, feed you when you are starving, forgive you when you are unkempt and hours late and a neglectful friend who can’t remember to wear socks let alone whose birthday it is. They will love your baby when you are too tired or frustrated to hold her at the moment, because you are imperfect and human and have imperfect and human failings. They will remind you who you are when you start to think your whole life is only about poop.

They will lift you up.

Ur: 10 True things about the first year of parenthood

Onsdagar,ljuvliga onsdagar. Aldrig trodde jag att mammavänner kunde ha sådan himla stor betydelse under det första året. Och det stämmer så himla bra det där om att ha en ‘village’, människor runt omkring en som kan ge stöd, förståelse, en kopp té eller sällskap under en promenad. Eller någon att prata med mitt i natten när ungen inte vill sova och man själv är tröttare än tröttast. Jag känner mig så lyckligt lottad att jag har de här tjejerna och deras gosiga bebisar, och att vi har klickat så otroligt bra och kommit varandra så nära. They lift me up. 

marieandharuka

oscar3

together

2 thoughts on “My village

  1. Jag vet inte vad jag hade gjort utan mina vanner i Warszawa. Kan fortfarande borja grata for att jag saknar dem sa mycket. De var och ar verkligen som en extra familj for mig och sa nara ett par systrar jag nansin kommer komma. Det ar nat speciellt att dela den dar tiden nar man precis blivit mamma.

Kommentera

